Hunger’s a Good Kitchen

Zoya Zelensky Vulpes Vulpes

A Varied Diet

I knitted this wee pyjama case recently for a foxy-loving nine year old. Whenever I knit a toy I do a bit of a story; this one demanded a Ukrainian symbol and it was easy to work out what had happened to her – she and her two friends Valentyna and Svetlana had escaped the bombing in Mariupol by stowing away on a freight ship on the Sea of Azov, and making their way steadily north west through Europe. Clever wee things.

I discovered that a leading fox charity has urged people not to feed foxes because in all the hardship cases they have investigated through the decades, they have never once found a starving fox. It seems foxes are brilliant scavengers and adventurous in their appetites. They will eat nearly anything. If you feed them they come to rely on unreliable donations and might themselves fall prey to predators.

Then I found the Centipede’s Song from James and the Giant Peach, by the redoubtable Roald Dahl:

I’ve eaten many strange and scrumptious dishes in my time,
Like jellied gnats and dandyprats and earwigs cooked in slime,
And mice with rice – they’re really nice
When roasted in their prime.
(But don’t forget to sprinkle them with just a pinch of grime.)

There’s a lot of research going on worldwide into insects as part of the solution for world hunger. Lots of cultures eat insects out of choice, not just necessity. It is widely accepted that food insects generally provide an excellent source of protein, fat, and micronutrients. And have you seen the price of cheese recently?

Just sayin.

2 thoughts on “Hunger’s a Good Kitchen

  1. Goodness, there’s no end to your talents Helen. The fox with an ear nod to Ukraine is gorgeous. He has a knowing look about him too; does he have a name and do you need to be nine to have one to store your PJs??

    I know you’re right about the value- maybe in time, necessity – of eating bugs L🐛 🐜 🕷 and I know from watching junk TV like “I’m a Celebrity, Get me out of here” (which I’m sure you don’t watch) that witchetty grubs taste like almonds when raw and soft fried egg when cooked and are staple food among some Aboriginal Australians but I’d just starve if it came to it. Out and out woose……. Have you ever tried any bugs? x

    1. Hi Johan, the fox is a girl! Zoya Zelenski Vulpes Vulpes; she has two friends who ran away with her on her long journey, and they have been rehomed nearby (one of them is on the needles right now – just a body and one paw at present.) I’ll send you the knitting pattern if you like! The flag ear was an adaptation of course. I’m not a fast enough knitter to offer to do it for you, and the two others I’m doing (Zoya’s fellow travellers) are destined for different local charities here, raising funds for Ukraine.
      No, I haven’t eaten bugs… but I’ve had snails in garlic butter in France (delicious), and I could probably tolerate cricket flour, which is how lots of bugs will make their way to market as the years go by. A cricket flour pancake? That would work for me!

Comments are closed.