Transitioning

I’ve been somewhat off air recently because of being busier than usual – in a great way. In the last eleven days I have retired from full-time employment; moved along with Suzi my cat to live with the Troubadour; and sat an important exam. Lots of changes, and I’m very chilled and happy. Almost as chilled as Suzi. 2016-11-29 16.40.08.jpg

One of the transitions is that I’m now living with a vegetarian; so that will have an impact on my normal cooking routines (tonight it’s ratatouille).

Another is that I’m now living in a small town with a strong tradition of fruit-growing, preserving ancient varieties of apples and plums that were originally planted by 12th Century monks, at Lindores Abbey. So I’ll be getting involved with the orchard group.

Another potential transition is that I hope to get involved with a food waste/poverty charity – more of that in the days and weeks to come.

And I haven’t even mentioned the shoe-horning of me, Suzi and our stuff into the Troub’s little flat. But hey, all will be well. Here’s the new shelf, completed 5 minutes ago, awaiting the cookbooks. 2016-11-29 16.34.29.jpg

However – the big plan is to rev up the  blog. I’ve been enjoying reading other people’s blogs from round the world and sharing comments. It’s great to feel connected with others. I might trade up to a website instead of just a blogsite, if I can figure out the technicalities. Meantime I just want to say thank you to everyone who reads this and especially to those who comment; and to put my more-frequent-posting resolution on the public record!

Ratatouille, incidentally, isn’t what you would think of as Scottish staple fare. But aubergines and peppers are cheap just now and it’s easy and tasty. Here’s the recipe in one sentence:

Chop 2 onions, 3-4 cloves garlic, an aubergine and a pepper or two, and simmer with a tin of tomatoes and some seasoning for half an hour. Voila!

2 thoughts on “Transitioning

Comments are closed.