What’s this funny spear thing doing on my plate?

P1020383I bought three packets of asparagus for £4 from Tesco this morning, for my elderly tenants, and was feeling a bit guilty about extravagance in a world where mince and tatties are de rigeur. Nobody ever really questions my budgetary judgements – actually I’m pretty thrifty – but I know eyebrows are sometimes raised at some of the ‘fancy’ ingredients I introduce.

Asparagus has to be celebrated though, doesn’t it? Here’s how I celebrated mine last week, in this wonderful Scottish heatwave.P1020387

Still intent on justification for my wanton fanciness, I had a rake through my nutrition books and lo and behold! Here’s all the justification I need: asparagus is anti-inflammatory – brilliant for anybody with arthritis. It also acts as a prebiotic, stimulating the growth of healthy bacteria in the gut and keeping the digestive system healthy. And finally, it’s rich in Vitamins C and E, folate, magnesium, potassium and iron. All the good things I need for myself, never mind the tenants. So it’s eggs and asparagus on the menu tonight. Here’s to long life and good health.

One thought on “What’s this funny spear thing doing on my plate?

Comments are closed.