People Need Pies

That was the thinking behind a potential business idea. I thought I might be the pie lady and bury myself in flour and lard and tote my offerings round the farmers’ markets. My friend Jude sighed, mid-swallow, one day and opined that people NEED pies. It seemed like a great slogan.

I had a birthday the other day and prepared a great picnic (though I say it myself – 59 is not the age for false modesty!) and ten of us, plus four dogs, had a lovely time at Tentsmuir Forest. I made a raised pork and egg pie – sometimes known hereabouts as ‘Gala Pie’ – loaf-shaped, porky mixture with hard-boiled eggs tucked inside. (The eggBirthday 59s also were Jude’s; not hers personally of course but from her hens. She has a commendable pie commitment.)

Well the pie was very good. But the crust kept falling off. As my  brother pointed out, this also happens with bought Gala Pies. It’s a bit of a nuisance but gives you another excuse for licking your fingers. This was a Paul Hollywood recipe and it’s not really difficult. I had a sticky moment (due to kitchen not being sufficiently spacious – okay then, due to kitchen not being sufficiently tidy) when one of the loaf tins fell off the worktop. The pastry didn’t fall on the floor, I promise, not even for the permitted three seconds, but it sort of collapsed in on itself and had to be re-rolled. Bit of a footer but I guess my skills (and tidiness) will improve through time.

No, there’s another reason that I have scrawled ‘NEVER AGAIN’ across the recipe in the book. It’s the usual reason: saturated fat. I am very desirous of acquiring a free bus pass such as our wonderful Scottish government hands out to citizens of this great country on their 60th birthdays. And I don’t want to curtail my free travel years. So it’s back to the cookery books and the search is on for a nice low-fat pie with great flavour and lots of good healthy life-affirming vits and mins. Suggestions welcome.

