And here’s one I made earlier …

Short post today, trailer for a longer one as soon as the photos come back …

I had an STV film crew here this morning, doing a story about ‘Lost Recipes’. The actress Jayd Johnson (‘Field of Blood‘; River City) was discussing her granny’s rice pudding with chef and restaurateur Neil  Forbes. The rice pudding is a significant memory for Jayd,  but nobody knows exactly how it was made, and Jayd’s granny can’t remember. By a string of fortuitous and random events, I was the lucky home cook chosen to host this part of the shoot, and offer a few rice puddings of my own to help Jayd and Neil figure out how her granny worked her magic. So last night I made three rice puddings and today I made two … one of the baked ones came close to Jayd’s memory of her granny’s own, and she and Neil were kind enough to go YUM YUM  with lots of lip-smacking. That was the first time they had to taste. But the scene had to be re-shot a few times so it was a fine tribute to their acting skills that they stayed enthusiastic throughout. Jayd got a BAFTA for Field of Blood so I guess liking my rice pudding, several times over, was a doddle.

Off to supper with the stars … more later!

 

