Win some, lose some …

Parsnip Weekend (see my last post) was fun but the results were mixed. The Tatin had a good flavour – very good in fact – but the pastry wasn’t the right type, I felt, and the portions had been overestimated. Or maybe it’s just that my friends and I like to eat more than had been set out for us! So I’m going to experiment with different kinds of pastry and will get back to you with a revised recipe.iPhoto Library

The cake – well – it had a good texture but was a bit dull. The only tasty thing was the hazelnut topping, which I must say was lovely; but I don’t think I’ll make the cake again. It’s not as moist as carrot cake, which is the obvious comparison.

The soup was great – spicy and tasty and warming. I used parsnips and a potato, onions and garlic, chilli and ginger, and a grating of orange zest. And chicken stock from the freezer, but it would have been just as good with vegetarian stock cubes I’m sure, if that’s what you prefer.

And now I’m into the Christmas preps. Cranberry, orange and port sauce made, following Delia Smith‘s classic recipe. Also her Chocolate Truffle Torte (both from the 1994 edition of her Christmas book). White bread crumbed and frozen for bread sauce on the day. FriendP1010681 Vera doing turkey and trimmings; friend Joseph doing starters. I’m on veggies, sides and puddings, and a surprise late requirement – a veggie alternative for Vera’s son’s girlfriend. So I’ve been perusing my nut loaf recipes and adapting one to suit her likes and dislikes. Joseph suggested Asda mini vegetable rissoles, and was confined to barracks in disgrace! No, Joseph, this nut loaf needs to be as nice for our new veggie friend as the free-range turkey will be for the rest of us …

The photo represents something of a starting point, but sadly my kitchen table right now is nothing like as clean and orderly as this. It’s all stacked up with recipe books and things torn out of magazines and half-written Christmas cards and sellotape and empty mugs and a de-fleaing kit for cats …

