Vinegar and Honey

I’ve succumbed to the lurgy – after a lovely day out on Saturday, with cake and coffee at Pillars of Hercules in the company of a feathered friend and a non-feathered friend.  Photo of one of them to the right; the other is a shy retiring bird who doesn’t pose for the camera.  So, by the time I got home from church on Sunday I was somewhat under

honey and vinegar 001 the weather; rallied myself for more cake and coffee with another friend (never call me unsociable) then came home and got into my jammies.  Have barely been out of them since; might manage today but no promises as yet.

So – it’s vinegar and honey and hot water for me.  I usually prefer lemons but forgot to buy them.  However cider vinegar works just fine.  And a great book to finish – ‘Ghosting’ by Jennie Erdal – a fellow Fifer no less, although I hadn’t come across her before.   She spent twenty years working for a prominent publisher and wrote two novels and a weekly  newspaper column in his name.  If I’d thought ghost-writing might be an easy way to make a living via the pen, I’d think again.  She writes with great integrity about the identity issues she faced throughout those years, and their impact on her personal life.  I was worried at one point that she was going to say her second marriage had fallen foul of her demanding boss.  But she didn’t, and I trust it hasn’t.  I’m glad to see she has now come out of his shadow, and has written her own novel which I will now look out for.  I wonder what the fallout has been for the ghostee?  Erdal wrote a vivid and relatively sympathetic picture of him; but I must say he’d have driven me to drink.

honey and vinegar 005

One thought on “Vinegar and Honey

  1. Hope you are feeling much better now Helen. The tea and cake sounds great. I love Pillars of Hercules cafe – there is something special about sitting outside eating yummy organic food!

Comments are closed.