Enter the Calamari Queen

(Or ‘Hello Squid Kid’).

Last week I bought a couple of tins of sardines for the cupboard – apparently their nutritional qualities are unaffected by the canning process and of course they’re cheap.  According to Hugh Fearnley-Whittingstall they’re also sustainable if farmed correctly.  However I must admit it was  a bit of a ‘worthy’ purchase rather than a passionate one.  My memories of past tins of sardines are not inspiring.  Still, at 45p a tin in Aldi, I couldn’t pass them by.   Then I spied, sitting right beside them, tinned calamari, and tinned mussels – each at 86p a tin, hey big spender!  So I took a tin of each.

Cooking for one can be a bit of a challenge – I want things to be quick and easy and tasty; healthy; good for the environment; and preferably also, in my current circumstances, cheap.  Well I’m glad to say my Calamari in Tomato Sauce have ticked all my  boxes.   Or at least I think they have; I’m not a sustainability expert but from a quick trawl on the internet I can see that there’s some debate.  Apparently the little squids are scoffed by the bucketload by cruising sperm whales; so by comparison it seems humans might not make a major impact.  And they breed fast, the little blighters, you’d think all those arms and legs would get in the way.

According to the box, my supper contained 7.4g of fat, of which saturates were only

Calamari 0370.8g.  The whole tin contained 150 calories and it wasn’t even high in sugar or salt.  With my baked potato and salad I felt I was being suitably virtuous but also, I have to say, it tasted really good.  So now I’ll approach my tins of sardines with a more optimistic fork.  Especially since Hugh F-W uses the term ‘Bloody Mary’ as a verb in a recipe suggestion…  sardines with vodka, anyone?

7 thoughts on “Enter the Calamari Queen

  1. That made me laugh Helen. I have at least two “emergency” cans of sardines and other Lidl/Aldi bargain fish in my store cupboard that I never fancy eating… however this week I will endeavour to…. ! I totally agree that cooking for one is a hassle though and I think I live off “fridge pasta” ie pasta with whatever I have lying about in the fridge,, you would be surprised what works!

    1. Yeah, we could have an online competition for the most disgusting stuff that passes the lips of single people who don’t have to worry about what other people think of their secret diets…! And here’s me recording ‘The Great British Bake-Off’ and other delights!

  2. By the way its a complex process to comment on your blog- couldn’t do it from my phone without a wordpress account and had to use either twitter or facebook here. Am sure you should be able to have settings that allow people to comment with just email addresses?

    1. Hi Hilary,
      I thought you COULD comment with just email addresses, in fact I’m sure that’s what other people have been doing… Let me have a fiddle around and get back to you.

  3. Yay! Thanks for fiddling with uour settings (so to speak!) looks like I can now comment straight from my phone and with just my email address. Expect lots of annoying comments now!!!

      1. What are friends for!! I think I am surgically attached to my iPhone so it’s great I can comment ftom here!

Comments are closed.